Product Mapping via API

Related products: PX Product Mapper

I have been speaking with a customer today who has some feedback on being able to register and manipulate Product Mapping via the API.

I wanted to share the feedback here for some visibility and feedback form the team:

As a developer I believe it would be beneficial to be able to register and manipulate Product Mapping via the API. This would provide teams like mine with more robust capabilities to insert the setup of instrumentation into our developer workflow, instead of leaving it to a manual process after development.

Because we are using custom `data-*` attributes to tag the elements in our UI we want to track, as well as assigning them unique values based on context, we don't have the same need to test selectors via the manual product mapping tool due to our ability to use very specific selectors that are structure agnostic with respect to the rest of the HTML in our app. I'm trying to enable a capability somewhat akin to database migration strategies where we can define declarative and idempotent mapping rules that can be run with our application deployments in an automated manner.

So, I believe exposing the elements of the Product Mapper via the supported API would enable more advanced integrations for teams like mine and enable us to instrument our application more robustly and completely than the manual process enables.

Please share any thoughts and feedback.

-Thanks

Thank you for the feedback!

Gainsight PX offers custom event API where you can pass both named events and dynamic properties based on runtime values. https://support.gainsight.com/PX/API/04Use_Custom_Event_API

In case you want these events to be mapped into features automatically - please ask your client outcome manager to enable that settings in your subscription. PX can automatically create features in your product tree out of custom events.