[Suggestion] Proper alert pop-up message when mappings aren't saved in the AO

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
  • (Edited)
When we add a source for a participant in AO and while mapping the participant, if we don't save then we get this red alert-

 


It would be great if we could get a succinct pop-up like -"Please save the participant mapping". Currently, the way to identify that the mapping is not saved is -




Thank you :) 
Photo of Shiv Kumar Katiyar

Shiv Kumar Katiyar, Employee

  • 1,084 Points 1k badge 2x thumb

Posted 2 weeks ago

  • 2
Photo of Denise Stokowski

Denise Stokowski, Official Rep

  • 11,890 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Good suggestion.  We should also think about how to make the SAVE more obvious.  I find myself clicking it multiple times as it never occurred to me that the yellow highlighting indicated things not saved yet!
Photo of JohnPaul Dicks

JohnPaul Dicks

  • 348 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Agreed - would be awesome if there were a set standard in the Admin UX for when config autosaves vs does not, where on the page save and back buttons are placed, etc. At present there is some lack of consistency here.
Photo of JohnPaul Dicks

JohnPaul Dicks

  • 348 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Great post Shiv, thank you! 

I definitely think the UI queues should more explicitly guide the user through the flow, and this is a prime example of where I got caught up not knowing how to interpret the alerts that I was receiving.

Also a general comment about AO: The solution is great, but there are quite a few configuration variables that are not well defined in the UI (eg: Static vs Dynamic methods of compiling a recipient list, and reasons for allowing a discrete user to reenter the flow.). I got tripped up on both of these as well, and wasn't able to find specific guidance in the product or in the AO docs, so I contacted support (which, as always, was extremely helpful!) - but it ended up delaying the process and creating friction in implementation.