Data management UI Revamp discussion

Related products: None

Hi All,

I am a Product manager at Gainsight; my team works with Data management in Gainsight.

We are planning a UX revamp and I would love your feedback. 

1. What are the most common features you use in Data management?
  2. How often do you view the object graph? What data do you look for in the object graph?
  3. How can we improve your experience while creating and managing objects in Gainsight?
  4. What are the pain points when you create new objects and fields?
  5. Any other feedback that would improve your experience while creating and managing data in Gainsight?

Thank you

Preethi

• I leverage Dependencies and Activity Log quite often.  A Search option would be HUGE in both of these areas because it takes so much time to go through each individual log entry when searching to see what may have been done to a table in the Activity Log as well as having to manually view each asset type to search Dependencies.
  • When using the “Data” tab, it would be helpful if you could define the standard columns by object you want to display by default vs defaulting to the first 10 columns. i.e. for Company I am always going to want the Name, SFDC Account ID, and other fields to show.  So instead of having to clear/reselect filters every time, allow me to define my own standard.

• Allow me the ability to relabel names of fields Standard/System tables.  For example:  The Company, Person, User, Scorecard Measures (among others) tables each have a NAME field.  If I could change them to “Company Name,” “Person Name,” “User Name,” “Scorecard Measure Name,” etc., that would help me when traversing lookups via reports, rules, programs, etc. instead of showing multiple different fields labeled “Name”.
  • Yes I use the Object Graph on occasion.  It would be helpful to display  the full object and field names instead of having them cut off in the view.  There is plenty of whitespace to accomodate that.
    •