Question

Is it feasible to be both a Salesforce admin and Gainsight admin?

We have just signed up with Gainsight and I am the designated admin. We have also only recently implemented Salesforce (only Opportunities) for our Sales team, however our Salesforce admin has left. I'm considering stepping into the breach and taking on Salesforce admin as well. I have no experience of Salesforce. Would it be too much to take on admin for both? What kind of time does it take to get a decent grasp of Salesforce (and what are the best training resources to do so). Really appreciate any feedback. Thank you!

9 replies

Hey Faelan!

While it [i]can be done, I would recommend only taking on one learning curve at a time.  From my own experience, being a SFDC admin greatly aided my understanding of GS Admin.  However, SFDC has an even steeper learning curve than GS.  

I'd take a look at the required velocity of change in both platforms and determine if they are slow enough to allow you to do more learning on the job (so to speak).

Happy to discuss more over the phone if you'd like!

Tim
Thanks a mil Tim. That kind of ties in with what I've heard. Think i'll just a get a basic sense of Salesforce functionality but keep the main focus on Gainsight training for now. 

Cheers!
Userlevel 7
Badge +3
I will second Tim's comments.  It can be done (I think Seth Wylie does both) but you're going to take on a lot to try and manage both - especially if you start leveraging automation in GS.  If you step in and take it over, there's probably no going back and you will burn out.

I know enough SF to be dangerous 🙂 but if I had to be responsible for our SF instance as well, the little hair I have left would all be gone.  Enough on my hands with managing Gainsight, keeping up with new releases/features, etc.